Comparison

Square for Restaurants is a point-of-sale system with payments, ordering and loyalty, from the company behind Square readers.

Side by side

FeatureSquareScanly
PriceSee their websiteFree, or Pro at $26 per month per place
Free planSee their websiteYes, with no time limit
Fees on salesSee their websiteNo Scanly commission
QR code menuYesYes, on Free
NFC tagsNot statedYes, on Free
Table orderingYesYes, on Pro
Menu translationsNot statedYes, on Pro
Loyalty programmeYesYes, on Pro
Apple and Google Wallet loyalty cardsNot statedYes, on Pro
Table reservationsNot statedYes, on Free
Online booking for servicesNot statedYes, on Free
App for guestsNot statedYes, on Free

“Not stated” means the sources we checked don't mention it, not that the product lacks it. Prices and plans were checked on October 31, 2026 and may differ by country or change later. All product names belong to their owners, and Scanly isn't affiliated with them. Spotted a mistake? Write to support@scanly.app and we'll fix it.

Source: Square website

Choose Square if…

  • you want a POS and card payments from one vendor
  • you already use Square for your business
  • you want kitchen displays and kiosks in the same system

Choose Scanly if…

  • you don't want to change how you take payments
  • you want a menu built from a photo and translated for you
  • you want a loyalty card in Apple and Google Wallet

Moving to Scanly. Places leaving another platform can apply for 3 months of Pro for free, and import clients and services from a CSV file. See the switch offer

Questions, answered

See it with your own menu.

The free plan has no time limit, so you can compare for as long as you like.

Start free